News and Highlights

Air Force dominates 2022 Armed Forces Men's Soccer Championship
Air Force celebrates their first goal of the championship match against Navy. during the 2022 Armed Forces Men’s Soccer Championship hosted by MacDill Air Force Base in Tampa, Florida from March 6-12.  1st Lt. James Souder (second from right) of Tinker Air Force Base, Okla. scored two goals, including this one.  The best players from the Army, Marine Corps, Navy and Air Force (with Space Force players) compete for gold.  (Photo by Ms. Arianna Dinote, Department of Defense Photo - Released)
March 17, 2022 - Air Force goes undefeated and finishes with a dominating 4-0 victory over Navy to win the 2022 Armed Forces Men’s Soccer Championship Saturday in Tampa, Florida.


Sunday, 6 March
Match 1:  Navy 3 - USMC 1  FT:   Photos     Video

Navy - PO2 Jonathan Konan (2); SN Brandan Buendia

USMC - 2ndLt Mats Bjurman

Yellow Cards:
Navy - LT Andrew Grossman; EN Obed Petion; SN Brandan Buendia; PO2 Devonte Ecford; PO3 Elhadji Ndiaye

USMC - GySgt Mohamed Sesay; Cpl Idrissa Toure; Cpl Akrosh Budhathoki

Red Cards:  None

Match 2:  USAF 2 - Army 0  FT:   Photos     Video

USAF - SSgt Misael Gomez; SSgt Alfredo Villasenor

Army - None

Yellow Cards:
USAF - Capt Tyler Detorie; SSgt L'Trel Sterling; Amn Erick Mata; Capt Aaron Zendejas

Army - SPC Luis De Carvalho; SPC Tyler George; CPL Chad Melton

Red Cards:  None

Tuesday, 8 March
Match 3:  Navy 5 - Army 1  FT:     Photos     Videos

Navy - SN Brandan Buendia (2); PO2 Jonathan Konan; PO3 Elhadji Ndiaye; Army Own Goal

Army - 1LT Dorland Tucker

Yellow Cards:
Navy - None

Army - SSG Trong Nguyen; CPL Chad Melton

Red Cards:  None

Match 4:  USAF 1 - USMC 1   AET-PENS  (USAF wins 3-1 in Shootout):   Photos    Video (Regulation)    Overtime

USAF - 1st Lt Luis Martinez

USMC - Cpl Carlos Vazquiez-Perez

Yellow Cards:
USAF - SSgt Misael Gomez; Capt Aaron Zendejas; 1st Lt Luis Martinez

USMC - Cpl Carlos Vazquiez-Perez; 2ndLt Mats Bjurman; Maj Dylan Montambo; Sgt Giovanni Castro

Red Cards:  1st Lt Tucker Bone (USAF) - VC

Thursday, 10 March
Match 5:  Army 3 - USMC 1 FT            Photos      Videos

Army - SGT Ermito Arana; 1LT Dorland Tucker; SPC Tyler George

USMC - Cpl Carlos Vazquez-Perez

Yellow Cards: 
Army - None

USMC - SSgt Stephen Whisnant

Red Cards:  None

Match 6: USAF 1 - Navy 0                  Photos       Videos


USAF - SSgt Alfredo Villasenor

Navy - None

Yellow Cards: 
USAF - SSgt Aaron Hope; 1st Lt James Souder; 1st Lt James Simms

Navy - PO2 Devonte Ecford; LCDR Joseph Pascetta

Red Cards:  None

Saturday, 12 March
Consolation Match: Army 1 - USMC 0       Photos     Videos 1st Half    2nd Half

Army - SGT Ermito Arana

USMC - None

Yellow Cards:
Army - SSG Trong Ngyuen; SGT Ermito Arana

USMC - SSgt Stephen Whisnant

Red Cards:  None

Championship Match:   USAF 4 - Navy 0          Photos     Videos   1st Half   2nd Half

USAF - 1st Lt James Souder (2); Amn Erick Mata; Maj Christopher Brown

Navy - None

Yellow Cards:
USAF - 1st Lt James Simms

Navy - LT Alexander Wilson (2); HN Cesar Flores; CPO Jay Corona-Reynard (Coach)

Red Cards:
Navy - LT Alexander Wilson (2 Yellow Cards)

All-Tournament Team

Petty Officer 2nd Class Jonathan Konan (Navy), Naval Air Station Fallon, Nev.

Staff Sgt. Alfredo Villasenor (Air Force), Luke Air Force Base, Ariz. 
Maj. Dylan Montambo (Marine Corps), MAGTFTC Twentynine Palms, Calif.
Cpl. Carlos Vazquez-Perez (Marine Corps), Marine Corps Base Camp Pendleton, Calif.
Sgt. Francisco Delgado (Army), Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson, Alaska
Seaman Kersan Marcellin (Navy), Naval Base San Diego, Calif.
Seaman Brandon Buendia (Navy), Naval Base San Diego, Calif.

Cpl. Chad Melton (Army), Joint Base Lewis-McChord, Wash.
Maj. Christopher Brown (Air Force), Hill Air Force Base, Utah
Tyler Detorie (Space Force), Peterson Space Force Base, Colo.

Goal Keeper:
Senior Airman Gavin Bryant (Air Force), Joint Base Langley-Eustis, Va. 



    W    L     GF  G A     DIF
1st   USAF     4 0 8 1 +7
2nd Navy 2 2 8 7 +1
3rd Army 2 2 5 8 -3
4th USMC 0 4 3 8 -5

Air Force wins Championship vs Navy
Army wins Consolation Match vs USMC


PO2 Jonathan Konan (3) - Navy
SN Brandan Buendia (3) - Navy
1LT Dorland Tucker (2) - Army
Cpl Carlos Vazquez-Perez (2) - USMC
1st Lt James Souder (2) - USAF
SGT Ermito Arana (2) - Army
SSgt Alfredo Villasenor (2) - USAF
2ndLt Mats Bjurman - USMC
PO3 Elhadji Ndiaye - Navy
1st Lt Luis Martinez - USAF
SPC Tyler George - Army 
Maj Christopher Brown - USAF
SSgt Misael Gomez - USAF
Amn Erick Mata - USAF


Sunday, 6 March
1:00pm:    Navy vs USMC
    USAF vs Army (30mins after match one)

Tuesday, 8 March - Tournament Sport Complex of Tampa
4:00pm:    Army vs Navy
7:00pm:    USMC vs USAF

Thursday, 10 March
4:00pm:    Army vs USMC
7:00pm:    Navy vs USAF

Saturday, 12 March
12:00pm: Consolation Match: Army v USMC
3:00pm:     Championship:      USAF v Navy