An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

News | June 15, 2021

Cape Fear sevens to Host 2021 Armed Forces Women’s Rugby Championship

By U.S. Armed Forces Sports U.S. Armed Forces Sports

The annual Armed Forces Women’s Rugby Championship featuring teams from Army, Marine Corps, Navy, Air Force (with Space Force personnel), and Coast Guard, is held in conjunction with the 2021 Cape Fear Rugby Sevens Tournament from 24-28 June.

Matches begin on Friday, June 25 at 5:00 p.m., with the Marine Corps facing Coast Guard in the opening round.  Friday’s matches will be held at the Cape Fear Rugby Complex located at 209 Lake Drive, Wilmington, N.C.

The tournament continues at 9:40 a.m. on Saturday, June 26 at the Cape Fear Regional Soccer Park located at 205 Sutton Steam Plant Road, Wilmington, N.C. All Armed Forces matches will take place on the Blue Field.

The 2019 event was the inaugural Women’s Rugby Championship, with the Army going undefeated to capture the first title.  Marine Corps took silver followed by Air Force, Navy and Coast Guard placing third, fourth and fifth respectively.  

With the 2020 Championship cancelled due to the global COVID-19 pandemic, the 2021 Armed Forces Women’s Rugby Championship will be the first Armed Forces Championship for any sport since February 2020.  

Teams held training camps around the country to select the top players from their Service branch.  

For more information, visit  

You can follow Armed Forces Sports throughout social media using the following hashtags:  #ArmedForcesSports; #ArmedForcesRugby; #Rugby; #ArmedForces