An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

News | Dec. 19, 2016

USA wins 2016 SHAPE International Basketball Tournament

By Armed Forces Sports Armed Forces Sports

The U.S. Armed Forces Men's Basketball team defeated Lithuania in overtime 87-86 to win the 2016 SHAPE International Basketball Championship Dec. 3. 

USA went undefeated during the six-day tournament that featured teams from Italy, Netherlands, Latvia, France, Canada, United Kingdom and Belgium. 

Throughout pool play, both USA and Lithuania rolled through the competition to advance to the championship game.

In the finals, Lithuania and USA fought a close match to finish with a 75-75 tie in regulation. During overtime, the U.S. men were able to close the deal scoring in the final seconds to return to the top of the podium. 

Team USA won the tournament in 2014 and captured bronze in 2015. 

First held in 1960, the annual SHAPE International Basketball Tournament is NATO's largest sports competition, attracting numerous NATO and Partners For Peace nations from around the globe. 

The U.S. Armed Forces Men's Basketball team was selected from the pool of players during the 2016 Armed Forces Men’s Basketball Championship held at MCB Quantico, Virginia During the Armed Forces Championship, Army unseated Air Force’s run of eight-straight championships.  

The 2017 Armed Forces Men’s and Women’s Basketball Championship will be held at Joint Base San Antonio, Texas from 31 October to 8 November.  

Final SHAPE Standings: 1st -- USA; 2nd -- Lithuania; 3rd -- Latvia; 4th -- Italy; 5th -- France; 6th -- Canada; 7th -- United Kingdom; 8th -- Belgium; 9th – Netherlands; 10th – SHAPE. 

U.S. Armed Forces Basketball Roster: 
First Lieutenant. Michael Fitzgerald - Air Force
Senior Airman Daveon Allen - Air Force
Lieutenant Kaleo Kina - Navy 
Sergeant Montonio Kenen - Marine Corps
Senior Airman Anthony Morris - Air Force
Ensign Tilman Dunbar - Navy 
First Lieutenant William Kammerer - Air Force
Lieutenant Jevon James - Coast Guard
Senior Airman Dorian Donald - Air Force
Specialist Seck - Army
Specialist Heath - Army 
Specialist Henderson - Army

Head Coach – Master Gunnery Sergeant Elonzo Higginson - Marine Corps 
Assistant Coach – Tech Sergeant Roderick Green - Air Force